Camino Day 25: Ponferrada to Villafranca del Bierzo – The Land of Earthly Pleasures

Triple P and I started our hike today somewhere ar around 7h20 (I don’t quite remember). We had breakfast with the French cyclist before finally heading on our way. I informed Triple P that I was taking it easy today, walking only 24 km. I didn’t want to force him to stick to my itinerary for I knew he had other plans. He started his Camino a full week after I did! I can’t believe we are in the same spot now, granted he’s accustomed to walking further than I everyday. He informed me that he needed to be in Santiago by the 30th. I told him I planned on arriving the 30 in Santiago so he could finally slow down. I also told him he was welcome to join me until then, but I didn’t want to force him to walk with me.

While we were walking we talked a bit. I’m already noticing that the conversation is flowing more with him.
image

image

image

The day’s landscape was through rolling hills and vineyards; it reminded me a lot of the day I walked from Logroño to Nájera. Well, not so much. Maybe the later part of the stage from Estella to Torres del Rio. Either way, it was quite nice. I convinced Triple P to knock down some apples from a tree that were not quite ripe. I also knocked down few almonds with my walking pole. I only found 3 of them in the brush, but that’s better than none. Eventually I’ll find a way to open them.
image

image

image

As we approached Villafranca I crossed paths with the Spanish couple I met during dinner in Saint Martin del Camino. They were very nice and it was nice catching up with them. It started to sprinkle a bit and Triple P and I chose the nearest albergue, although the hospitalera was quite strict. The albergue was an old hospital and after a few hours, I found the place rather eerie. It didn’t help that it was a bit on the empty side. I easily imagined this place being haunted and now I’m regretting our decision not to back track and go to the other albergue.

image

Villafranca

image

It rained all afternoon and I took advantage to be a full out bum and nap and blog. There was a beautiful church castle thing I saw from afar upon entering the village, but I could not garner the motivation to sight see in the rain. Villafranca will simply have to be a city that I revisit. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t raining much (or at all) after Triple P and I ate dinner, but I didn’t feel like walking around.

Essentially, today was a very blah day. I talked to a cousin from home and learned about what some of the arrangements are for our deceased cousin. I think the recent news combined with the gloomy weather kept my spirits down.

Here’s hoping tomorrow is a more cheerful day.

Day 25: 24 km
To Santiago de Compostela: 172 km

Leave a comment